Top 10 Greatest Soccer Coaches In History: Sir Alex Ferguson Is Only Ranked 2nd

France Football has recently published a list of the Top 10 best coaches of all time with many surprises.

Accordingly, the legendary coach of Man United that has the biggest influence on the success of the Red Devils over the past two decades, Sir Alex Ferguson was unexpectedly ranked 2nd in the voting list.

This is a surprising result for many people because everyone thinks that with what has been done in 24 years leading Man United, no one can surpass Sir Alex in the best coach.

However, according to the announcement from France Football, the legendary Dutch coach, Rinus Michels is the first in this election.

Michels’ career is associated with 3 teams: Ajax Amsterdam, Barcelona and the Netherlands. Along with Ajax, Rinus Michels has three Netherland national cups and one Champions League. Going to Barcelona, ​​this great leader also brought the Catalan team to a La Liga championship and a King’s Cup. Rinus Michels also brought Netherland national team to the EURO 1988 championship and finished second in the 1974 World Cup.

Besides, it was Rinus Michels who founded the philosophy of “Total football” and was voted as the coach of the 20th century by FIFA (in 1999). The legendary military leader passed away on March 2005.

In the list of the 10 best coaches voted by France Football, the legendary Johan Cruyff ranked 4th while the 5th place belonged to Pep Guardiola. Legendary Italian strategist Carlo Ancelotti finished eighth in the list.

Expanded, Zinedine Zidane has only a short lead time, but with three consecutive seasons to help Real Madrid win the Champions League, he is still ranked 22 on the list. Jose Mourinho with successes in Porto, Chelsea, Inter Milan, etc ranked in 13th place while Arsenal’s legendary coach, Arsene Wenger ranked 32nd.

Top 10 best coaches of all time voted by France Football:

  1. Rinus Michels
  2. Sir Alex Ferguson
  3. Arrigo Sacchi
  4. Johan Cruyff
  5. Pep Guardiola
  6. Valeriy Lobanovskyi
  7. Helenio Herrera
  8. Carlo Ancelotti
  9. Ernst Happel
  10. Bill Shankly