Soccer’s Highest-Paid Coaches (part 2)

Arsene Wenger
Coach of Team Arsenal
Salary: USD 10 million
Arsene Wenger has been the head coach of the Gunners in London since 1996, making him the longest-serving manager in history of this club. He was not only responsible for helping to revolutionize Arsenal but also contributed to the development of English soccer on the whole. Recent media reports also claim that Wenger is about to sign an extension with Arsenal that could worth nearly USD 14 million per year.

Gerardo Martino
Coach of Team Barcelona
Salary: USD 7.5 million

Before being the head coach of Barcelona, Martino worked with the Paraquay national team to achieve its best ever season in 2010 when the squad went to the World Cup quarter-final round but losing to the Spanish champions. Since taking over at Barcelona, Gerardo Martino has been coping with many challenges in his first season for the La Liga title with less than two weeks to play.

Jurgen Klopp

Coach of Team Borussia Dortmund
Salary: USD 6 million
Although rumors have widely said that Klopp would replace David Moye’s position at Manchester United, the coach has quickly shot those rumors down by signing contract with Borussia Dortmund. He has lead the team to two Bundesliga titles, as well as a run to last year’s Champions League final, although being lost to its rival Bayern Munich.

Manuel Pellegrini
Coach of Team Manchester City
Salary: USD 5.75 million
Manchester City has been renowned for spending big bucks since Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan bought the team in 2009, covering contracts of both players and coaches. Manuel Pellegrini is one of the many former Real Madrid managers still coaching, who got off to a rough start with four early losses in the first season, but be able to turn things around en route to a Champions League qualification and potential English Premier League title.

Jorge Jesus
Coach of Team Benfica
Salary: USD 5.5 million
Jesus has been working with Benfica for five years, leading the club to two Primeira League titles with the first one in 2009-10 which has also earned him honors as the league’s top coach.